Tech

Tech

First look at the new smaller iPad Pro

ipadpro2016 Today was a pretty small news day for Apple. In part, because the announcements were largely iterations on existing products. But, also because the rumors about Apple’s hardware getting smaller were indeed true. The most notable downsided-device was the iPhone SE (watch our hands on here) but for designers, artist, or just fans of the Apple Pencil, the new smaller iPad Pro was a happy… Read More

Tech

Where to watch the live stream for today’s Apple smaller iPhone event

unnamed1 Apple is holding an event today in Cupertino, and the company is planning once again to live stream the event. At 10 AM PT (1 PM ET, 5 PM GMT, 6 PM CET), you’ll be able to watch the event on all Apple devices. If you have a new Apple TV, you can download the Apple Events app in the App Store. It lets you stream today’s event and rewatch old events. Old Apple TV users can just turn… Read More

Tech

Building a smarter home

futurehouse The Jetsons presented a highly entertaining vision of what homes of the future would look like. The animated television show anticipated a world where humans would be able to do everything with just the push of a button. In many ways, the show turned out to be prophetic; today we have printable food, video chats, smartwatches and robots that help with housework — and flying cars may… Read More

Tech

These are testing times: mavericks vs. ice people

top-gun-2-val-kilmer-tom-cruise One of my earliest engineering jobs, before I fled hardware in favor of the (relative) ease and lucre of software, was in chip design. I remember being shocked when I learned just how much of the processor in question was devoted to test circuitry. Why waste so much on testing, I thought, instead of just getting it right the first time? Oh, how young and incredibly stupid I was. Read More